Resources

Youth Food Bill of Rights

Organizations:

Rooted in Community  http://www.rootedincommunity.org/

The Food Project http://thefoodproject.org/

Urban Nutrition Initiative  www.urbannutrition.org

Appetite for Change  www.afcmn.org

Berkeley Youth Alternatives   www.byaonline.org

CANFit  http://www.canfit.org

Center for Food and Justice   http://www.uepi.oxy.edu/cfj

Coalition of the Immokalee Workers http://ciw-online.org/

Community to Community     www.foodjustice.org

Cultiva!  http://www.growinggardens.org

Cultivating Community  www.cultivatingcommunity.org

Damayan: The Garden Project  www.damayan.org

Eco Station NYC  http://www.ecostationny.org/

East NY Farms  http://www.eastnewyorkfarms.org/

Flowering Tree Permaculture Floweringtreepermaculture.com

F.R.E.S.H. New London   www.freshnewlondon.org

Farm Fresh Choice    http://www.ecologycenter.org

Food Project, http://www.thefoodproject.org

Food, What?!  www.foodwhat.org

Garden Project   http://www.gardenproject.org

Garden Raised Bounty   http://www.goodgrub.org

Good Food Jobs   Goodfoodjobs.org

Green Guerillas  http://www.greenguerillas.org

Growing Power   http://www.growingpower.org

Lots to Gardens  www.lotstogardens.org

Massachusetts Avenue Project & Growing Green     www.mass-ave.org

Mo Better Food    http://www.mobetterfood.com

Nuestras Raices    http://www.nuestras-raices.org

People’s Grocery   http://www.peoplesgrocery.org/

Pie Ranch   http://www.pieranch.org

Add Planting Justice    www.plantingjustice.org

Project E. A.T. – Fresh Crew    http://www.projecteat.com

RootDown LA     http://rootdownla.org

Roots & Wings – Angelic Organics Learning Center     www.learngrowconnect.org

SEEDS    http://www.seedsnc.org

Solstice Seeds – Sylvia Davatz (she has a farm in Hartland VT with many experimental projects, also is a grower for seedsaver.org)

The Solution Project   Thesolutionproject.org

Uprose  http://uprose.org/

Urban Roots   www.urbanrootsatx.org

WhyHunger  (Grassroots Action Network)  http://www.whyhunger.org

Worcester Roots Project  Worcester Roots Project

Youth-food.org

Books:

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver (recommended by Noah Kopf who says that “it discusses the locavore movement as a whole, especially one family’s experiences in trying to live by those ideals”)

Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

On Cooking Grassfed Meat – Sharon Hayes

Resilient Gardener – Carol Dope

Wild Urban Plants of the Northeast

Build an Oasis with Grey Water – Art Ludwig

Rainwater Harvesting for Drylands

Restoration Agriculture – Mark Shephard

Earth Repair – Leila Darwish

In the Shadow of Slavery – African Botanical Legacy in the Atlantic World – Carney and Rosomoff

Agrarian Dreams – Julie Guthman

Bananeras: Honduran Banana Workers – Dana Frank

Weighing In: Obesity, Food Justice, and the Limits of Capitalism – Julie Guthman

Food Justice – Robert Gottlieb and Anupama Joshi

Besky, S. (2014) The Darjeeling Distinction: Labor and Justice on Fair Trade Tea Plantations in India. University of California Press.

Ganz, M. (2010) Why David Sometimes Wins: Leadership, Organization, and Strategy in the California Farm Worker Movement. Oxford University Press

Gray, M. (2014) Labor and the Locavore: the Making of a Comprehensive Food Ethic. University of California Press

Guthman, J (2014) Agrarian Dreams: the Paradox of Organic Farming in California. University of California Press

Harrison, J L (2011) Pesticide Drift and the Pursuit of Environmental Justice. MIT Press

Schurman, R and Munro, W (2010) Fighting for the Future of Food: Activists Versus Agribusiness in the Struggle over Biotechnology. University of Minnesota.

Articles:

Gangsters, Swastikas, Tweakers and Permaculture by Chris Hoke: http://modernfarmer.com/2015/01/gangsters-swastikas-tweakers-permaculture

Tangled Roots and Bitter Fruit: What Ferguson Can Teach the Food Movement: http://foodfirst.org/publication/tangled-roots-and-bitter-fruit-what-ferguson-can-teach-the-food-movement/

Radical Farmers Use Fresh Food to Fight Racial Injustice and the New Jim Crow: http://www.yesmagazine.org/peace-justice/radical-farmers-use-fresh-food-fight-racial-injustice-black-lives-matter

The Food Police – Why Michael Pollan makes me want to eat Cheetos – Julie Guthman http://www.utne.com/politics/the-food-police.aspx

Videos:

Occupy the Farm- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D73MJcEsFlE

Food Chains- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqZLrXVAde4

Pueblo Food Experience- https://vimeo.com/82926771

The Garden- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmEPigRmTXQ

Food Forward Documentary on PBS- http://www.pbs.org/food/features/food-forward-season-1-the-us-of-agriculture/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s